Skip Nav

Most Instagrammed Place in the Middle East in 2016

Can You Guess Some of the Most Instagrammed Places in the Middle East in This Year?


The Middle East has some pretty incredible tourist spots, especially in Dubai, so many of the places named as the top spots people post from on Instagram probably won't come as a shocker. The Burj Khalifa, Ferrari World Abu Dhabi and The Holy Mosque Makkah are among the most geotagged locations on the social media app for this year. New data released by Instagram also showed that local celebrities including Huda Kattan and Ahmad Algushairi proved popular accounts to follow in the UAE and Saudi Arabia.

Find out what was hot in 2016, for the region and globally, below:

Top 10 UAE Geotags

• Burj Khalifa

• Atlantis The Palm, Dubai

• Burj Khalifa/Dubai Mall - Dancing Fountain

• Burj Al Arab

• The Dubai Mall, Dubai, UAE

• Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Abu Dhabi

• Mall of the Emirates

• Ferrari World Abu Dhabi

• The Walk @ JBR Beach

• Madinat Jumeirah

Top 15 UAE Accounts

• Huda Kattan @hudabeauty (15.8m)

• Hrithik Roshan @hrithikroshan (5.5m)

• Balqees Fathi @balqeesfathi (5.2m)

• Joelle Mardinan @joellembc1(5.1m)

• Lojain Omran @lojain_omran (4.7m)

• HH Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed Al Maktoum @faz3 (4.3m)

• Noha Nabil @nohastyleicon (3.9m)

• Abdullaziz Baz @bin_baz (3.7m)

• Ola Alfares @olaalfares (3m)

• Aseel Omran @aseel_o2 (2.9m)

• Taim Al Falasi @taimalfalasi (2.2m)

• HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum @hhshkmohd (2m)

• Fouz Alfahad @therealfouz (1.5m)

• Mona Kattan @monakattan (1.5M)

• Hussain Aljassmi @7sainaljassmi (1.4M)

Top Saudi Arabia Accounts

• Ahmad Alshugairi @ahmadalshugairi (7.7m)

• Tareq AlHarbi: @6ar8o (5.6m)

• Ibrahim Basha @ibrahimbasha (4.4m)

• @go_ne88 (2.1m)

• Afnan Albatel @afnan_albatel (5.5m)

• Ahlam Alnajdi @ahlamalnajdi (3.7m)

• Darin Al Bayad @darin00013 (3.6m)

• Mohamed Alhamdan @warchieff (2.6m)

• @rbaa33 (1.9m)

• @zyiaz (2.2m)

Top 10 Saudi Arabia Geotags

• المسجد الحرام مكة المكرمة

• الإحساء - الهفوف

• The Holy Mosque - Makkah الحرم المكي الشريف

• أبها - السودة

• Khobar Corniche - كورنيش الخبر

• المسجد النبوي الشريف في المدينة المنورة The Prophet's Mosque in Madinah

• جبل الهدا-الطائف

• مسجد قباء | Masjid Quba'a

• Mall of Dhahran

• Park Hyatt Jeddah - بارك حياة جدة - المارينا، النادي و المنتجع

Top 10 Saudi Arabia Emojis


❤
😂
😍
⬅
💔
💕
💜
🌹
💙
✨
😭
👌
🌸

Top 10 Most-Followed Celebrities on Instagram in 2016:

Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) - 103 million followers

Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) - 93.6 million followers

• Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) - 89.6 million followers

• Beyonce (@beyonce) - 88.9 million followers

Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian) - 87.8 million followers

• Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) - 82.3 million followers

• Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) - 79.5 million followers

• Dwayne Johnson (@therock) - 71 million followers

• Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj) - 69 million followers

• Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) - 68.9 million followers

Top 10 Celebrities Who Gained the Most Followers in 2016:

• Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) - Gained more than 50 million followers

• Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) - Gained more than 42 million followers

• Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) - Gained more than 40 million followers

• Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) - Gained more than 38 million followers

• Beyoncé (@beyonce) - Gained more than 37 million followers

• Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) - Gained more than 36 million followers

• Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian) - Gained more than 36 million followers

• Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson (@therock) - Gained more than 35 million followers

• Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj) - Gained more than 29 million followers

• Lionel Messi (@leomessi) - Gained more than 29 million followers

Celebrities Who Used Instagram Stories the Best in 2016:

• Brooklyn Beckham (@brooklynbeckham)

• Chrissy Teigen (@chrissyteigen)

• Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson (@therock)

Ellen DeGeneres (@theellenshow)

Eva Longoria Baston (@evalongoria)

Fergie (@fergie)

Kate Hudson (@katehudson)

• Kevin Hart (@kevinhart4real)

Lady Gaga (@ladygaga)

• Lucy Hale (@lucyhale)

Nick Jonas (@nickjonas)

Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon)

• Sarah Hyland (@therealsarahhyland)

• Tom Holland (@tomholland2013)

Makeup-Free/Body and Beauty Confidence Accounts:

Alicia Keys - Alicia Keys on cover of Fault Magazine, make-up free

Cindy Crawford - Cindy proves that 50 has never looked more beautiful, with a make-up free birthday post

Demi Lovato - Demi posts "sun kissed" no make-up vacation selfie

Drew Barrymore - Drew posts star-studded make-up free selfie with Cameron Diaz, Nicole Richie, Gwyneth Paltrow

Gigi Hadid - Gigi posted photos to Instagram celebrating self-love, with both beauty and body positive statements

Gwyneth Paltrow - Gwyneth posts empowering photo of herself on her 44th birthday with no make-up, hashtagged #goopgoesmakeupfree

Katie Holmes - Katie goes au natural with wet hair and zero make-up

Khloe Kardashian - Khloe takes to Instagram to preach about the importance of self-love

Kylie Jenner - Kylie looks fresh faced and freckled in a rare, make-up free moment

Laverne Cox - Laverne posts empowering photo of herself with no makeup and hashtags #aunaturale #nomakeup #nofilter #noweave #washfacenobase #transisbeautiful

Salma Hayek - Salma posts selfie with wet hair, no makeup, and no filter, but "very good light"

Sofia Vergara - Sofia posts vacation, make-up free selfie

Zendaya - Zendaya posts a no makeup, "fresh faced" selfie

Top Celebrity/Public Figure Posts:

• The Instagram community celebrates the life and mourns the loss of music icon David Bowie. Most notably, Iman honors her late husband on Instagram at the 2016 Grammy Awards and celebs including Jessica Chastain, Victoria Beckham, Sam Smith and Kate Hudson post touching tributes

• Honoring the late Prince, community members and music enthusiasts such as Lenny Kravitz, Spike Lee, Justin Timberlake, Ariana Grande, Ashley Benson, and Kylie Jenner pay tribute

Leonardo DiCaprio wins his first-ever Oscar, making it the moment on Instagram during the 2016 Academy Awards

John Legend and Chrissy Tiegen's baby Luna arrives! John posted the first photo ever on Instagram and Chrissy followed suit shortly after

• Pope Francis joins Instagram with this first post

Top Fashion Hashtags in 2016

• #ootd

• #instafashion

• #vintage

• #fashionblogger

• #fashionista

• #streetstyle

• #stylish

• #mensfashion

• #instastyle

• #lookbook

Top Fashion Accounts That Gained the Most Followers in 2016

• @gigihadid - Gained 16 million followers

• @caradelevingne - Gained 14.3 million followers

• @haileybaldwin - Gained 5.9 million followers

• @bellahadid - Gained 5.8 million followers

• @emrata - Gained 5.7 million followers

• @victoriabeckham - Gained 5.2 million followers

• @chrissyteigen - Gained 4.8 million followers

• @gisele - Gained 3.9 million followers

• @taylor_hill - Gained 3.6 million followers

• @angelcandices - Gained 3.5 million followers

How the Fashion Industry Turned to Instagram in 2016 (Trends and Moments)

• Tommy Hilfiger hosted an InstaPit during their Fall 2016 show where they gave Instagrammers prime seating for capturing looks

• Stella McCartney, at her 2016 Fall show in Paris, invited illustrators to exclusively sketch some of the looks for Instagram (#Stellastrations)

• W Magazine conducted a second model search was influenced by Instagram's #Runwayforall

• Threeasfour cast all their models from Instagram

• WHIT by Whitney Pozgay hosted an Instagram sketch class 30 minute prior to presentation and then put the pieces of art up on the walls to be included as part of the show

• Fashion and illustration became synonymous when Instagram launched #FashionIllustrated. With the #FashionIllustrated series, Instagram put five talented artists in the spotlight, connecting them to the industry as well as everyday users who are yearning to learn more about the art and fashion illustration

• More on Fashion Illustrated: Earlier this month Instagram launched #fashionillustrated – its first ever "how to" series that highlighted an illustrator each day around the world. Illustrators used Instagram Stories to teach their fellow Instagram community members how to illustrate florals, draw silhouettes and more. Highlights here: Jae Sukkim, (whimsical illustrator from Seoul,) Samuel Harrison (young student from London,) KT Small(work featured on @gucci and @erdemlondon gowns,) Isabelle Feliu (illustrator from Oslo,) Beth Fraser (23-year-old fashion illustrator who lives in London), designer Tanya Taylor (paints each of her collection's prints on canvas first.)

• Met Gala 2016 - As stars made their way from the red carpet to the Costume Institute's new exhibition, "Manus x Machina," Vogue challenged some of the Met Gala's most-followed guests to strut their stuff inside our futuristic Instagram portrait studio

• J.Mendel and Yigal Azrouel debuted their SS17 collections on Instagram Stories exclusively

• Gucci worked with illustrator @mrsjaydefish on a Stories takeover from the front row and incorporated her drawings into his collection

Image Source: Uber UAE
Kinder's "Joy Of Movement" Program Launches In Saudi Arabia
Saudi Arabia Ends Guardianship System
Red Hot Chili Peppers Abu Dhabi UFC Performace
Red Hot Chili Peppers Abu Dhabi UFC Performace Yas Island
New Instagram Feature Cyberbullies
What do Social Media Influencers do
Instagram Poet Cleo Wade Best Poems
Middle Eastern Celebrities Using Instagram
Ramadan Rules To Follow
Stan and Spam Instagram Accounts
UAE Mothers Day Quotes Poems
Why I Detoxed My Social Media
Latest Technology & Gadgets
All the Latest From Ryan Reynolds